The Door Stop Awards

For Congressional Innovation and Transparency

In an era of government characterized by deadlock, disagreement, and partisan politics, the Door Stop Awards for Congressional Innovation and Transparency highlight those Members of Congress and staffers delivering sustained, bipartisan and meaningful change in the most challenging of environments. Their triumphs often happen quietly, outside of the public eye, but the effects are felt strongly throughout Congress and across the federal government. This year’s awards will be presented on May 17 in Washington, D.C. as part of Lincoln Network’s Reboot Congress.  The ceremony will be held at an evening party honoring the nominees and recipients.

Door Stop Award winners don’t just open government to the public once, they put in place “door stops” to ensure that government never again closes to the American people.  What makes a good Door Stop Awardee? See the inaugural winners from 2016!

Date: May 17th, 2017
Time: 5:30 PM
AT&T Forum
601 New Jersey Avenue,
NW Washington, DC 20001


Know a Congressional Innovator?

Is there an unsung hero of Congressional Innovation that deserves recognition for their hard work? Nominate them for the 2017 Door Stop Awards!

Presented By


Lincoln Network

View Site

The OpenGov Foundation

View Site

Honorary Co-Chair: Congressional Transparency Caucus

View Site

Honorary Co-Chair: Congressional Open Source Technology Caucus

Champions of Congressional Innovation



View Site


View Site
30th Logo 3

Congressional Institute

View Site
Consumer Technology Association

Consumer Technology Association

View Site
democracy fund

Democracy Fund

View Site

Partners in Congressional Innovation


Congressional Management Foundation

View Site

The Bridge Alliance

View Site


View Site

Friends of Congressional Innovation


Sunlight Foundation

View Site
nicd_logo_large transparent background

National Institute for Civic Discourse

View Site


View Site

Congressional App Challenge

View Site

R Street Institute

View Site

TechCongress Fellowship

View Site


View Site
Capitol Bells:Cloakroom

Capitol Bells/Cloakroom

View Site

Congressional Data Coalition

View Site


View Site

Millennial Action Project

View Site

The Roy and Lila Ash Center for Democratic Governance and Innovation

View Site

2016 Door Stop Award Winners


Congressman Jared Polis (D-CO), Congressman

Mr. Polis has served in the U.S. House representing Colorado since 2009 and is one of the few successful tech entrepreneurs in Congress. He brought that spirit into the institution, protecting internet freedom and co-chairing both the Congressional Open Source Technology Caucus and the Caucus on Innovation and Entrepreneurship.

See details

Speaker John Boehnor (R-OH), Former Speaker of the House

Mr. Boehner represented Ohio in the U.S. House of Representatives starting in 1991 and was speaker from 2011 to 2015. He expanded the use of live video on the House floor and in committee hearings, pushed for legislative data to be posted online in XML and bulk data formats and much more.

See details
Eric Cantor

Majority Leader Eric Cantor (R-VA), Former House Majority Leader

Mr. Cantor represented Virginia starting in 2001 and was the Majority Leader from 2011 to 2014. He worked diligently in leadership to involve more citizens in the legislative process and standardize the data coming out of Congress. He began the practice of publishing House Floor scheduling information in structured data formats, supported efforts to record and live stream House committee proceedings and pushed for new legislative data standards.

See details

House Democratic Whip Steny Hoyer (D-MD), House Minority Whip

Mr. Hoyer has represented Maryland since 1981 and served as the Democratic Whip since 2011. He has lead the charge to open congressional data through active participation in the House’s Bulk Data Task Force, hosting both Congressional Hackathons, producing apps such as the Whip Watch and much more.

See details
Jo Marie St. Martin is general counsel to Speaker John Boehner.

Jo-Marie St. Martin, General Counsel and Director of Legislative Operations, Speaker Boehner

Ms. St. Martin served as general counsel and director of legislative operations for Speaker Boehner. She was instrumental in improving transparency in the legislative process including a drive to post bill language online for three days before it would be considered on the floor and to open up Republican conference rules.

See details

Karina Newton, Former Senior Advisor & Director of New Media, Minority Leader Pelosi

Ms. Newton worked in Congress from 2000-2012 serving as senior advisor and director of new media for Nancy Pelosi. During her tenure, she shepherded increased online disclosure including posting lobbying disclosure forms, member expenses and bill text online and drove an update to the franking manual that enabled members to use social media tools like Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

See details